What is Chitta ?

‘Kathopanishad’ describes Yog as ‘when the senses are stilled, when the mind is at rest, when the intellect wavers not –then say the wise , is reached the highest stage.’ This steady control of senses and mind has been defined as yog.
Maharishi Patanjali in his second aphorism of first chapter of Yogsutra says “yoga Chitta vritti nirodha” i.e yog restraints fluctuation of chitta. Some commentators mention Chitta as composed of (a) Mind/manas (b) Intelligence/buddhi & (c)ego/ahamkara and some commentators say that the ‘chitta’ is composed of 17 components which includes the ego and mind and they add the 5 gyanindriyas, 5 karmaindriyas and 5 pranas.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s